Previously Reviewed

Below are some YA series that I have previously reviewed for my day job at The Roanoke Times newspaper.

“The Starbound Series” by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Disney-Hyperion, “These Broken Stars,” 387 pages; “This Shattered World,” 390 pages; “Their Fractured Light,” 425 pages, $17.99, 2013-2015, Goodreads

Image-via-the-geekiary.com_.png

I previously reviewed this series back in July 2016 and found it to be absolutely riveting, imaginative, and morally adept. Great for young teens learning to make their way in the world. I’m also a sucker for a beautiful book cover, which is sometimes how I choose what I’ll read next. Read the full review here.

Amie Kaufman can be found on Twitter @AmieKaufman and on Instagram @amiekaufmanauthor

Meagan Spooner can be found on Twitter @meaganspooner and on Instagram @meaganspooner

“The 13th Continuum” by Jennifer Brody

Tuner Publishing, 416 pages, $14.95, April 2016, Goodreads

574fa38c91e64.image.jpg

As soon as I picked this book up I was in love with it. The story is original, the plot filled with adrenaline, and the characters so real they seem like your friends. It also helped that I got to meet the author, who worked on The Lord of the Rings films. Brody has been signed on to do a trilogy of this series with Turner Publishing and the movie rights have been purchased! The second book of the trilogy, “Return of the Continuums,” is due out this November and I already have an advanced copy ready for review, so be on the lookout for it! In the meantime read my review of the first book here.

Jennifer Brody can be found on Twitter @JenniferBrody

“The Zodiac Series” by Romina Russell

Razorbill, “Zodiac,” 336 pages and “Wandering Star,” 352 pages, $17.99, 2013-2015, Goodreads

Zodiac-Series.png

When I talk about being attracted to book covers this is what I mean, but that’s just the start. The world in which the main heroine’s story takes place is so original that I was blown away by how much work Russell must have done just to create it. Also, Russell was the very first author to reach out to me about my book review of her novels. Let me tell you I could have fainted! She is so nice. I encourage you to follow her on twitter via @RominaRussell as she updates her fans on her progress and will give really good reading suggestions. If you pick up this book and find that you love it and have devoured both in a short amount of time, no fear, the third book, “Black Moon,” is due out Dec. 6 of this year and the fourth, “Thirteen Rising,” will be out sometime in 2017. Also, if you’re a huge fan of the zodiac and astrology this is the book for you. Read more about it in my review here.

Romina Russell can be found on Twitter @RominaRussell and on Instagram @rominagarber

“The Selection Series” by Kiera Cass

  HarperTeen, “The Selection,” 336 pages; “The Elite,” 336 pages; “The One,” 323 pages; “The Heir,” 342 pages, $17.99, Goodreads

17149094

I picked up this book because I learned that the author lived in my area, and I wasn’t completely disappointed. I am a huge fan of dystopian novels, but I found this series to touch less on political unrest and more on the bachelor side of things. A lot of people say this book is a cross between “The Hunger Games” and The Bachelor, but I was left wanted more of the former. It also tries really hard to give the message that women are more than their looks, but that message falls on deaf ears among the glitz, glamor, and superficiality. You might have noticed that I’m missing the last book in the series. Never fear, I have read it and will be writing a review for it soon. In the meanwhile find my full review here.

Kiera Cass can be found on Twitter @kieracass and on Instagram @partylikeawordstar

“The Summoner Series” by Taran Matharu

Feiwel & Friends, “The Novice,” 398 pages and “The Summoner,” 368 pages, 2015-2016, $18.99, Goodreads

20083960.jpg

You know, I don’t pick up books with a male main character often and it’s a shame because this series was a wild ride! What’s so unique, though; is that Matharu actually started writing the series on the popular writing website Wattpad. That’s where is publisher found him and since then he’s been signed to do a trilogy. This book is like “Harry Potter” meet “Lord of the Rings,” so if you have a teenage boy who doesn’t like to read, but loves adventure give him this book. He’ll be reading in no time as it’s a great book for young readers to transition into high sci-fi literature. Matharu’s third book, “The Battlemage,” is due out in May 2017 so be on the look out. As always head over here for my full review.

Taran Matharu can be found on Twitter @TaranMatharu1 and on Instagram @author_taranmatharu

On Deck

Come back to my blog next time for three more reviews of some amazing YA fiction. I’ll be covering “An Ember in the Ashes Series” by Sabaa Tahir, “The Crown” by Kiera Cass, and “Love, Lies and Spies” by Cindy Anstey. I hope you enjoyed my first post!

Keep reading!

A.

2 thoughts on “Previously Reviewed

Leave a Reply

