Review: “Song of the Current”

“Song of the Current” by Sarah Tolcser

Bloomsbury Children’s Books, 373 pages, $17.99, June 6, 2017, Goodreads

31450960

Sarah Tolcser’s beautiful novel about love, belonging and fate is a well-crafted, mythology filled adventure for the YA reader. Caroline Oresteia is the daughter of a wherryman and comes from a long line of sailors who have been called to by the god of the river. Unfortunately, Caro hasn’t found her calling yet and is afraid she might never.

But when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious package, Caro decides to take things into her own hands. She offers to take the package where it needs to go even though it means being hunted by pirates along the way, but she’ll risk anything for her father and his boat.

Tolcser brilliantly meshes myth, fate and an adventurous, entertainment filled story with this novel. I found myself loving the characters who had a way of jumping off the page. There was just the right amount of magic and myth for the setting, which made the story still grounded in reality, and didn’t leave it feeling farfetched.

Caroline is a spunky, resourceful sailor who I think is a lovely main character. She is real, as she had doubts and worries about her place in the world in which she lives. I think many young adults can appreciate her struggle and relate to it. The supporting characters are very fleshed out and don’t get overshadowed by Caro’s journey, which can be very hard to do as an author.

The plot moved smoothly just like Caro’s wherry down a river. I didn’t find myself bored nor did I feel like the book stalled anywhere. I thought that might be a problem because the novel surrounds a journey down a river after all, but there was enough action that not only kept me on the edge of my seat, but kept me turning page after page.

I recommend this book to anyone who loves the sea, sailing, or any other type of nautical leisure. I also recommend this book to anyone who has ever felt lost because it’s nice to see that you’re not the only one sometimes. This is a perfect story for the summer and I was thoroughly entertained all the way through.

Sarah Tolcser can be found on Twitter at @SarahTolcser, on Instagram at @sarahtolcser, and on Goodreads.

Keep reading!

A.

Leave a Reply

